Raspberry5: SSD instead of microSD “It’s time to ditch microSD”

• Hi

In Internet and Youtube I saw “It’s time to ditch microSD”

I'm still new to Raspberry and co.

A MicroSD card is much easier to use. Have you installed an SSD in your Raspberry 5? My main use case is streaming from Jellyfin server (network traffic). Can anyone say whether the performance is significantly better with SSD instead of SDcard?

best regards

<3

• It's faster, but the impact is I/O not compute or GPU performance so boot is marginally faster and scrolling around the GUI where art is being read/rendered is marginally faster. It's "marginal gains" and FOMO territory .. it's not so much faster that you're really missing out.

• Hi

In Internet and Youtube I saw “It’s time to ditch microSD”

I'm still new to Raspberry and co.

A MicroSD card is much easier to use. Have you installed an SSD in your Raspberry 5? My main use case is streaming from Jellyfin server (network traffic). Can anyone say whether the performance is significantly better with SSD instead of SDcard?

best regards

<3

I view the SSD vs SD card discussion more of a question of reliability vs. performance with Kodi / LibreElec but SD card reliability has improved significantly over the past 5 years. As mentioned above the main advantage of SSD for performance is disk I/O. I run Mezzmo, which is similar to your Jellyfin server, and have an endpoint performance Wiki page where I compare certain performance characteristics.