How about a Windows util that makes it easy to connect with LE?

• I've given up after trying for nearly three weeks to get this PC (media server) to network with the LE box under the telly. For the near future I'm going to have to load videos onto a USB stick so I can play them on the LE box, it's otherwise useless now.

I was thinking since it's been sooooo much trouble for a lot of people that would it possible to write a bit code/make a util that loads onto your Windows pc that doesn't use SMB, etc, and is tailored specifically to let the LE box network with any problems? I'm the first to admit I'm not a programmer/developer so it might be a daft idea but it might also be not too difficult and if so most certainly worth the time. Especially since every update to Windows seems to break something.

• That's the best bet..try NFS...another option is install zeroconf/bonjour server on your windows pc...it's kind of the smb version of Apple devices

• Zeroconf/Bonjour is not a file transfer protocol (like SMB or NFS) but a network services discovery protocol. In other words, it makes the computers see the shares automatically as they are advertised on the network, but it does NOT provide any file transfer capability.

NFS, SMB, AFP, any file transfer protocol will not function properly if the underlying network is misconfigured. @bilzilla, you should describe your setup first (router, IP addresses, if you're running DHCP, if the internal DNS works correctly). I believe your router might handle out IP addresses from DHCP so once they change you are unable to reconnect to an IP address and your internal DNS does not work properly in order to connect to the existing shares using "smb://myfileserver/share" instead of "smb://192.168.0.128/share/" (192.168.0.128 being an example only). Once the DHCP leases expire, your computers may be getting different addresses, thus voiding your share definitions. So please let us know what your actual network setup and settings are.