Minimal Build

• Hi,

As I understand, Lakka is built on Libreelec. That made me interested in seeing if I could make my own build. I'm trying to build a minimal OS with accelerated video/audio on a single-board computer like a Raspberry Pi. I assume that means GLES v2 and maybe OpenAL. The goal is to boot fast into my own program.

I'm just getting started. Do I need Ubuntu desktop or can I build from a server edition?

• I'm just getting started. Do I need Ubuntu desktop or can I build from a server edition?

There's no need for a Desktop version although it's often easier to work with(in) if the VM is on a laptop. If the build VM is on a remote device, minimal server images are fine and have lower overheads.

• Thanks. I'm going through that but I ran into a problem, pretty quickly.

Using Ubuntu server 20.04.3 LTS:

I've updated and upgraded everything. I try to install the packages as indicated but I get an error:

E: Unable to locate package makeinfo

E: Unable to locate package mkfontscale

E: Unable to locate package mkfontdir

E: Unable to locate package bdftopcf

E: Unable to locate package java

• I guess I can ignore those. The build seems to have worked without them.

If they really don't matter, it would make sense to remove them from the docs. I wasn't able to add them to a fresh Ubuntu LTS server install. I don't think they were in the docker build, either.

• htop already exists in the build-system, so you can either install the system-tools add-on package via the Kodi GUI (which contains htop) or you can add "htop" to extra packages in one of distribution/project/device 'options' files and it should be added to the default image.

• htop already exists in the build-system, so you can either install the system-tools add-on package via the Kodi GUI (which contains htop) or you can add "htop" to extra packages in one of distribution/project/device 'options' files and it should be added to the default image.

Oh, okay. Thanks :)