I'm really confused

• Hi all,

Let's just say from the onset I'm really confused about this and I'm very new to Kodi/LE so please be kind with the comments.

I needed to replace my dying PVR so thought I would build myself an HTPC and Kodi looked like a good option. Did some research on a few forums and asked about which hardware I should use. Got the following reply from one:

Tanix TX92 / Vorke Z6 because they have a Gigabit ethernet port plus they will handle anything you throw at them when running LibreELEC Kodi Krypton.

Plus I've seen S9xx devices recommended on this forum too, so it seemed like a fair enough option.

So I purchased a TX92, installed LE (LibreELEC-S912.arm-8.2.4.1.force.444.10bit.img.gz) and TvH and all seemed fine. I then started to get intermittent reboots after 5-6 hours of streaming live TV plus the occasional random freeze and the logs always ending with "CVideoPlayerAudio::Process - stream stalled". So I hit google and found this.

If you read the thread it is exactly the same problem that I'm getting and on AML hardware. So I asked a couple of noob questions and it seems it's an AML known issue with comments like:

A shame that AML never fixed their kindergarten bug, in deed. Even more a shame that users buy this crappy buggy hardware with kernels that even don't receive Bugfixes anymore and use an Android GPU driver as vendor did not want to support Linux at all.

So, if this is an AML issue why would AML products be recommended at all and why don't I see heaps of posts with the same problem?

Is this issue fixable and if so how?

Have I got it all wrong, and if so please tell me?

Sorry about the long post, and TIA,

Greg

• So, if this is an AML issue why would AML products be recommended at all and why don't I see heaps of posts with the same problem?

People buy them in the first place because they are 'newer' and mostly because they are cheap.

AMlogic support itself has been over the years "like a box of chocolates..."