PSX Emulation

• Has anyone gotten good results from running PSX games on stock Libreelec on an Rpi4 4gb?

I am able to run the games with PCSX and have installed the correct bioses, but the games are all stuttering, especially the sound. Sometimes the games even crash/freeze and I have to restart the emulator.

Beetle PSX performance is downright terrible.

I know the roms are okay as I have dual boot set up and can play everything on Lakka fine. I also know Libreelec and RetroArch support are working fine, as NES, SNES, GBA etc games all work fine. But PSX games, regardless of whatever emulation settings I try are all unplayable (I am very new at this but tried almost everything).

I have scoured the internet to see if there is any solution without using some alternative Libreelec build or some other RPi image but there doesn't seem to be any example of a person getting PSX emulation to work on stock Libreelec. I am hoping for someone to either tell me the method that works for them or confirm that this is indeed impossible so I can go on with my life.

• Go to Best Answer
  • That's right. I have been using Libreelec for 2 years and try PSX emulation every now and then on the same hardware. The closest I got to it was switching from bettle to PCSX but it is still unplayable.

Same RPi runs these games fine using Lakka or RetroPie.

• Running "perf top" when playing a game may be interesting.

Wait for it to settle, and see if there's anything that shows up high on the profile.

If you can run the same on Lakka, that would also be useful.

• Here are the perf tops.

After seeing this I also changed the IAGL configuration to disable pausing Kodi when a game is launched (even though I am NOT launching IAGL games, these are local ROMs). At first I thought maybe it was a tiiiiiny bit better but then the game crashed again.