Current hardware recommendation for a dedicated LibreELEC box?

• What to buy if looking for an out-of-the-box LibreELEC experience, that is capable of 4K@60Hz / x265 / HDR / digital audio (*)?

I have no experience with any SBC / Arm hardware and something bare-bone (without RAM/HDD/SSD) would be preferred, but I'm open to any suggestions.

(*) I already have a HDMI audio extractor with optical output, a miniDP to HDMI adapter and an external USB soundcard at hands, so the box does not require a dedicated digital audio output.

• Not LibreELEC yet unfortunately.

Sorry, but I don't know what that's supposed to mean.

HDR is currently still the problem factor.

What exactly is the problem with HDR?

But I'm not hung-up on HDR as long as this is just a software issue that is going to be solved at some point in the future.

The question really is now to choose a proper hardware. I'm currently looking into the Intel NUCs, but there are so many variations of them and there is always the catch that any of the Intel Graphics at least up to HD 620 do not support 4K@60Hz at the HDMI port, but only at the Display Port.

Any idea which Intel NUC would be the cheapest to fulfill the mentioned requirements?

And which SBC would be the most suitable (an ODROID or RPi4?)?

At least the RPi4 is known to support 4K@60Hz, but on the downside none of the SBCs seem to be capable of doing hardware AES-NI, which is useful when OpenVPN is involved.

I really whish there was a definite hardware recommendation for running LibreELEC.

• What exactly is the problem with HDR?

HDR comes in not one but many flavors, and afaict, different hardware manufacturers treat HDR differently.

As a rule: don't try to buy the hardware that should last at least 5 years. there is no such thing. Technology goes fast. Two, three years ago HEVC was all the rage, now it's gonna be AV1, for which there is only scarce hw acc support right now.