Posts by chrisssj2

Hi, it's possible you're having the same problem as me:

1. If you are trying to play a movie through SMB

2. and the movie in the shared folder also has a subtitle file

Then Libreelec crashes.

Well the video i had an issue with had a subtitle file. However when i renamed both and moved to other folder. it would play through SMB.
    So maybe thats the issue i don't know, but ultimately it still played.

Try to mount SMB via OS, not via KODI and add the mount command to autostart.sh

On my PC I created a special account(read-only rights) for use with SMB - Username: kodi Password: kodi

This will work with every Version of LE/CE or whatever

Hey how do you do that? mount SMB via OS? you mean windows?
    Autostarts.sh? what where? im realy confused
    Im new to kodi/linux and all this.

I created a new guest account earlier today with no password, called MEDIA. so it has only read rights.
    I tried a movie today, and it would freeze the entire time i access the share in the folder. Once I renamed folder and filename it did play. very weird. Any idea? Many other movies did not face this problem.

Then what is your current issue? Are films still not playing via SMB or...?

The limitation of browsing on SMB shares and W10 is known and means you have to place direct paths to the shares. That is it, nothing to be done about it.

The issue is having to type the full path, instead of using the "Direct browsing feature" through all your smb shares.

You say there is nothing to be done about it? oh ok.. atleast i know im not doing anything wrong.
    No chance of saying it will be fixed?

Another issue I have is even though I have my advanced sharing options to not require a password. Kodi will still ask a user and pw.
    Is it required to have a windows account with PW or something?

Browsing for SMB shares does not work when using W10, due to the SMB version... See:

LibreELEC (Krypton) v8.1.0 BETA – LibreELEC