[SOLVED] How to change order of the Main Menu?

• Hi all!

I've been using LibreElec on my Raspberry Pi3 for a few months. For the most part its been awesome.

I'm not interested in populating all the Main Menu Items at the moment. So at first I hid them, and just kept Add-ons in view as I use it a lot. But the interface started to look very empty.

After some thought, I decided I'd prefer all Main Menu Items in view with Add-ons first on the list. Sounds simple right? Frustratingly I searched here/online and all I found HOW-TO:Edit the home screen skin files - Official Kodi Wiki (I know its not LibreElec) which referred to the Home.xml file, and LibreELEC but no mention of Main Menu Items. So I think all I'd need to do is edit some code which I don't mind doing. However I cannot find the Home.xml file in the LibreElec installation, or in fact any other file which could help.

Can someone help me please? I realize this may be a simple answer, but its certainly not online for all to see IMHO?

Edited once, last by Tennant (July 18, 2017 at 11:48 AM).

• I'm assuming you're using krypton / Estuary (and want to stay with Estuary)...

Your issue is that the skin is part of the initial install, so it's somewhere in the image in your flash partition. It can't be edited directly, you need to copy it to somewhere else, muck about with it and then stick it in the storage/.kodi/addons folder.

Option 1: edit Estuary

1. Copy the skin.estuary folder from usr/share/kodi/addons/ to somewhere you can edit it. WinSCP can do that.

2. Open skin.estuary/addon.xml - bump the version number (so it won't be overwritten). Notepad++ will do that.

3. Make your changes.

4. Zip up the folder

5. Install from zip

Your estuary skin has the changes, but won't update.

Option 2: make a new skin

Step 1 as above, then:

2. Rename the skin.estuary folder to eg skin.estuarymod

3. Open skin.estuarymod/addon.xml in notepad++, change the addon name to 'Estuary Mod'.