LIRC Setup

• Hi, this is my first post in this forum. I've been running Kodi on Ubuntu desktop for several years now, and right up front I want to say that I'm not a Linux expert. My main computer runs MacOS, so that gives you some idea of how much I get into Linux stuff. But you can't easily run MacOS on an inexpensive media center computer, and I hate Windows, which is why I have always used Ubuntu for those.

My problem is that Kodi running under Linux does not support 4K HDR. The various posts I have read suggest that it is currently impossible for Kodi to do HDR passthrough under Ubuntu desktop. If you ask about it they typically suggest running LibreELEC, which would be great except I do sometimes do other things in Ubuntu besides running Kodi.

One of the big things is I have installed LIRC (the old version that actually works) and use it not only with Kodi, but to do other things that are not related to Kodi at all. These are controlled using the .lircrc configuration file in the Ubuntu user directory. For example I can turn lights and other devices on and off this way. I can also start Kodi with the options I need.

From what I have read I suspect that LibreELEC does not use nor support LIRC. So I guess my first question is, is there some way to assign certain remote buttons to various functions outside of Kodi (for example, run a shell script, or send a command to another computer on the local network using ssh?). And if so, can it learn buttons from multiple remotes that can then be assigned to these non-Kodi functions? All of that is possible with LIRC, which is how I do it on my current Ubuntu system.