Rock 4 SE wrong Hdmi Resolution when TV is started later

• Hello,

I am still a beginner in Librerelec 10.0.2 and Linux.

I have here a Rock 4 SE and still have a problem with Hdmi and the resolution.

When the TV is on, the resolution (HD) is set correctly, but when the Rock 4 is recording and I turn on the TV later, a smaller resolution is set.

The Rock can not read the correct values from the TV off, it needs an edid or something like that.

How can I fix this ? Please keep in mind I am a beginner

• The "getedid" only exists for x86 and RPi ATM, but we ship some internal helper scripts (beware: that may change in the future) that may help you:

dump-active-edids checks for connected HDMI ports, writes the edid to /storage/.config/edid/edid-<CONNECTOR-NAME>.bin and prints the connectors.

eg here on RPi4:

Code
    xbmc:~ # dump-active-edids 
    found active connector(s) HDMI-A-1
    xbmc:~ # ls -l /storage/.config/firmware/edid/edid-HDMI-A-1.bin 
    -rw-r--r--    1 root     root           256 Dec  7 19:21 /storage/.config/firmware/edid/edid-HDMI-A-1.bin

create-edid-cpio creates /flash/edid.cpio with the edids from

/storage/.config/firmware/edid/

eg:

Code
    xbmc:~ # create-edid-cpio 
    successfully created /flash/edid.cpio

Now there's two things left to configure manually:

Adjust the kernel command line, configure the connector to use the edid file and the tell the video subsystem to ignore the hotplug (i.e. connected) signal of the HDMI connector.

eg here on RPi4 the following is added:

Code
    drm.edid_firmware=HDMI-A-1:edid/edid-HDMI-A-1.bin video=HDMI-A-1:D

And you also need to configure the bootloader to load edid.cpio as an initrd.

eg here on RPi4 (with very different bootloader than Rockchip, Allwinner etc) it adds this line:

Code
    initramfs edid.cpio