Updating my 2.0 system

• Hello people.

I am planning to update my 2.0 system in the near future. It is an 'audiophile' system and it will be composed of a SMSL SU-9 usb dac connected directly to two power amplifiers. For my source I am planning to use my old Haswell NUC (D34010WYKH2) running LibreELEC and getting the files from my NAS.

It will be a system for playing music HD Audio (up to 192kHz / 24 bit, nothing exotic) and on the same time audio from my films. This is usually multichannel audio that I am downmixing with Kodi. The music is all in 2 channels.

Please excuse my ignorance, I am kinda new to digital audio especially the new formats and therefore my questions may sound silly.

1) I plan to connect the DAC with the NUC via USB. Am I correct to assume that it will play fine with no issues because its linux and the device is a standard USB audio Class 2 device? The chipset is the ES9038PRO. If that doesn't work then what should I do? Get an hdmi audio extractor and try the coaxial? (The NUC doesn't have any digital outputs).

2) Does anybody know if there are any hardware limitations on the D34010WYKH2 concerning HD audio playback (not LibreELEC/Kodi related but I thought to ask).

3) If i do find the correct audio settings in Kodi for such a setup will the same options enable me to downmix multichannel audio from films and send it to my DAC? Which brings me to

4) Looking at the audio settings of Kodi I really have no idea what to choose. My gut feelings tell me to go with Number of channels = 2 and passthrough disabled which will probably be ok for my films but I am not sure if it will be able to pass HD stereo audio from the usb for my music.

You re probably thinking why I just don't test it myself. The thing is I don't have the DAC yet and I want to see if what I am thinking is possible. Because if it's not I might have to look for different hardware.

Thank you!