What is the "Go-to" SBC for LibreElec in 2019?

• Hi all,

I've been using Raspberry Pi 3's for my LibreElec TVs for a few years now, and they work well.

But I'm thinking of upgrading to 4k TVs and also I'd like to finally be able to watch h265 / 10bit / etc content.

So I've been looking around and there's sooooo many choices, and I don't even know where to start.

Odroid C2 & Tinker Board were popular but are quite old now. There's the Rock64 but it seems like people have reported various problems? Are Wetek boxes still relevant in 2019? How about a Vero 4k+, can it even install LibreElec? And I guess something very new like the RockPro64 is probably not a good idea?

Can anyone recommend one that I'm least likely to encounter problems, and I won't need to crawl through forums/google to find answers, please? They were the reasons I used the Raspberry Pis in the first place.

Thanks.

• Raspberry Pi's are still the gold standard SBC for LibreELEC IMHO, unless you can consider a SFF Intel x86 system.

Latest modern kernel, best stability, no major deal-breaking digital passthrough bugs (like the Amlogic boxes etc), but obviously no 4K capability.

• Official Post

From previous forum posts (Use the search function) the Vero seems to be the box of choice for "just" works out of the box (I don't own one, so I can't really comment on that). Yes it will run LE, if OSMC is not your thing.

However, the SBC market is so volatile, that a *new* box seems to come out every week.

Support is going to be better on X86 or RPi in most cases.

Have a look at the Downloads for official supported devices. I believe "Slice" boxes are no longer sold.

Personally I would either stick with what you have until you really need to upgrade or buy a cheap Amlogic device for now and then throw it away when something better arrives. (Not the greenest solution but...)