Beginner's help with sharing from NFS?

• I'm running LibreELEC 8.2.5 on a RPi 3B+

I have a usb hdd containing all my movies connected to it.

My aim is to use Kodi on my Android devices on same network, and add that hdd as a source.

(I've tried and successfully streamed from the Pi with DLNA/uPNP, but I don't want to navigate through metadata provided by that server - I want the external movies actually catalogued in a local library.)

I previously had some success with SMB before I upgraded LibreELEC to the current version, after which it stopped working and I learnt about SMB1 now being unavailable by default, and Kodi for Android not yet supporting SMB2+.

Correct me if I'm wrong - these are just my understanding from reading.

It seemed to me the internet was suggesting to use NFS, for speed and avoiding security issues of SMB1 (and as SMB2/3 is out).

Now, I'm basically a beginner with Linux and obviously only just learnt what NFS is, but I'm quite capable of following instructions.

The reason I post this is because every article I find about NFS is either written for more advanced Linux users, and/or comes with a warning that you should know a bit about Linux before messing with this.

I'd be surprised if I was the only novice who wanted this, so I'm surprised I can't find some instructions for beginners that just says line-by-line what to put into an SSH window that would make this work? I mean, since my setup is pretty much stock standard, it couldn't be the case that these instructions would need to be too specific to my situation.

Am I right, that NFS what I want?

If there is already an article I'd greatly appreciate someone pointing me to it, or otherwise it seems this might be a handy thing to provide. I know how to SSH with root so can skip that part, but what to do next written in laymans terms would be great to read!

TIA :)

• Official Post