Allo Digione

• The log looks OK to me.

Which AVR receiver are you using? Does it have some buttons to select the mode or configuration you could change?

It looks to me like the AC3 stream is sent correctly but for some reason your receiver doesn't detect it as AC3 and instead tries to output the compressed data as 2 channel PCM - which usually results in "terrible noise".

so long,

Hias

• The log looks OK to me.

Which AVR receiver are you using? Does it have some buttons to select the mode or configuration you could change?

It looks to me like the AC3 stream is sent correctly but for some reason your receiver doesn't detect it as AC3 and instead tries to output the compressed data as 2 channel PCM - which usually results in "terrible noise".

so long,

Hias

I'm not an expert...but in the log:

Code
    INFO: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Your hardware does not support AE_FMT_FLOAT, trying other formats
    INFO: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Using data format AE_FMT_S32NE

is it ok?

Anyway, I'm using a McIntosh MX132 and I had no problems with AC3 streams until now.

I try with an HDMI audio extractor, HDMI passthrough and it's all ok.

I don't understand why it shouldn't work with DigiOne.

Maybe I should use HDMI extractor and put away the DigiOne...

• The log lines you quoted are fine, this is when the audio device is opened for GUI sounds and you'll get the same messages for almost every device (float is rarely supported, usually only 16/24/32 bit).

The relevant lines are a bit down in the log.

These lines indicate DTS was detected and passthrough using 2-channel S16LE was properly activated:

A bit further down, when you switched to the AC3 stream, it looks fine as well:

It's rather puzzling, currently I have only 2 more ideas:

Maybe your receiver got "confused" because you played a DTS track before? Have you tried playing a audio or video file with just an AC3 track?