Installtointernal failing

• I've just bought two new S905X boxes (SMBOX 2), and they work fine with 8.1.9 when I boot from an SD card. However, I want to install to internal (I will never need to run Android) but when I run the 'Installtointernal' command I get

Code
    Formatting SYSTEM partition...The file /dev/system does not exist and no size was specified.

Indeed, there is no system folder under /dev:

I've tried both the standard DTB file (gxl_p212_1g.dtb) and the alternative which the instructions say to use if libreelec can't see the internal memory (gxl_p212_1g_nand.dtb) but I get the same error.

What am I missing here?

Thanks

• kszaq Yes, I have. I've just deleted dtb.img, re-copied gxl_p212_1g_nand.dtb and renamed to dtb.img again just in case I'd done it wrong but I still get the same error.

I'm no Linux expert but the blkid command doesn't show a partition for /dev/system which I think I should have (going by your post on how to use internal storage while booting from SD)

Code
    /dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
    /dev/mmcblk0: PTUUID="df3b6172" PTTYPE="dos"
    /dev/mmcblk0p1: SEC_TYPE="msdos" LABEL="LIBREELEC" UUID="42C4-ECBA" TYPE="vfat" PARTUUID="df3b6172-01"
    /dev/mmcblk0p2: LABEL="LIBREELEC_DISK" UUID="ca4b8b63-b5f9-4f1d-913a-41343a714d98" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="df3b6172-02"

Thanks

• Thank you. I can see that both NAND and eMMC drivers fail to detect internal memory.

Are you able to provide dmesg from Android to see which one is working there?

• Just tried this and it still cannot see internal memory, so I expect I have the same chip as havhav

YiGK

Shame this doesn't work but I guess maybe amlogic will support it in future kernel builds.

Thanks kszaq for your help in diagnosing this.

• Hello,