Another RPi3 Bluetooth troubleshooting qn

• I've been scratching my head a lot trying to get this working, and at first I thought I might have similar issues as the thread:

thread-2982.html

but I can't get anywhere, so I don't know if it's a different issue hence a new thread. I must admit I'm a bit of a noob with this stuff. I mean, I'm happy to follow instructions and research to learn about Linux/RPi to try fixing stuff, but honestly I'm a bit disappointed how hard it is to just play music on a BT speaker out of the box given the experience I'm having.

Let's see. I'm running a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B with LibreELEC 8.0.0 Kodi 17.0. This thing is brand new, I've just set up my media libraries. (OK I lie, I set up the Estuary Mod skin too.)

I switched on Bluetooth and I've got a Logitech UE Megaboom. Also I've got a UE Miniboom speaker. For some reason the Bluetooth screen shows the Megaboom speaker but not the Miniboom, so I can't even connect to the one I wanted (setting this up for my mum as it's her speaker). I'd have thought they'd work exactly the same, but I experiment with my megaboom anyway.

The thing pairs after a few attempts and Kodi runs as normal while audio is over HDMI. I switch to BT/PULSE as instructed (which I find this whole procedure annoying and not exactly user friendly for someone wanting a media centre for their parents), and then everything starts running slow.