irserver add-on

• My HTPC case is an OrigenAE S16V which contains a LCD/IR module (model "VF210") and requires the IRTrans driver to work.

I noticed irserver (= IRTrans driver) is missing from LibreElec 8+ installation.
    I found this pull request explaining this. The conversation suggests an add-on would be created to replace the package. I have not been able to find this add-on...

Can anyone help? Please.

P.S.: I am new to LibreElec but have been using OpenElec for many years (until the Krypton upgrade messed up my config). LCD/IR module has been working perfectly with OpenElec (even after the Krypton upgrade).

Edited once, last by apa (April 30, 2017 at 5:47 PM).

• I'm trying to find out exactly what needs to happen to get irserver to work again (hoping this might be of value to anyone wanting to create an add-on for this). This is what I found out so far:

• Download IRTrans server package from here.
    • Unpack IRTrans server package into /storage/.kodi/userdata/irtrans.
    • Modify the (binary) irserver64 using the vi text-editor and replace "xbmc.bin" by "kodi.bin". irserver looks for xbmc.bin in the list of running processes to enable its XBMC features. This little hack will make it look for kodi.bin instead...
      A cleaner approach would be to modify the irserver source-code and rebuild.
    • Execute the various chmod commands in-place (in /storage/.kodi/userdata/irtrans) in the same way as the "install.sh" script would.
    • Find out the device-name for IRTrans USB device (in my case, this was /dev/ttyUSB0).
      With OpenElec, I used /dev/irtrans0. This seems to have been a re-direct that was implemented in some script: it is not the name of your actual device.
    • Start irserver with the following command: ./irserver64 -logfile /var/log/irserver.log -pidfile /var/run/irserver.pid -daemon /dev/ttyUSB0

A "ps -d | grep irserver" confirmed irserver was running.