PC to replace a Raspberry Pi3 (4K, DTS, DTS-HD, etc)

• Hello to all,

Sorry if my english is weird, I'm not very good with the language of Shakespeare.

First of all I want to say that LibreElec is really a wonderful project and that it gives me a lot of satisfaction with my little Raspberry Pi 3B+.

I can play MKV videos encoded in H264, DTS, DTS-HD sound, etc. without any problem. Amazing what you can do with a very small card!

Here I am asking myself questions to make my system more reliable because I want to be able to play 4K videos always with a high definition sound with a great Hifi system. The raspberry is unable to do so unfortunately...

So I have the idea to buy a pc and transform it into a home cinema pc with LibreElec as OS. I don't need HDR.

Just 4K (H264 and H265) and the best possible Audio standards.

I have located different pc such as :

HP prodesk 600 g2 : i5 6500t - 8go ram and SSD 120go

Dell OPTIPLEX 390 : Intel i3-2100 - 4GB ram and 300GB HDD

Could you tell me if a PC of this range could correspond to my needs? I have a budget of about 100$.

A lot of PCs nowadays only have DisplayPort sockets, is it inconvenient to put an HDMI adapter on it to keep getting DTS, Atmos, etc.?

Thanks in advance

Have a nice day

Benoit

• Thank you for your answers, would you have any examples of NUC11 to advise me?

Which processor (i3, i5, etc)?

How many gigs of RAM?

When I was talking about 100$ it's obviously for a second hand pc but I can put more obviously.

etc.

• See a NUC or an older miniPC; HP and Lenovo (thinkpad) have made a few with decent specs, that might cater to what you need, since HDR isnt a thing for you.

cheers

• Thank you for your answers, would you have any examples of NUC11 to advise me?

Which processor (i3, i5, etc)?

How many gigs of RAM?

When I was talking about 100$ it's obviously for a second hand pc but I can put more obviously.

etc.