Need help/advice with Intel NUC buffering problems

• I really hope that someone here can offer me some advice as I have been trying to resolve this issue myself for a long time with no success.

My setup is as follows:

NUC8i3BEK with 8gb of RAM running the latest bios with Libreelec 9.2.6. The only thing I use Kodi for is to watch my media files stored on my NAS, I have no additional addons and I do not watch anything via http. My Synology NAS is connected using homeplugs (I know these are not the best solution but they have worked without issue for a few years and I have no way of running a network cable between the 2 rooms.) The media files are streamed using NFS protocol rather than SMB.

I have been using this setup for a few years with no issues, 1080p files play perfectly both AVC and HEVC. The problems began when I started watching 4K media files.

These files will play OK until the bitrate increases during a high action scene or similar. The high bitrate causes the video to freeze and then after a couple of seconds the blue circular icon appears on screen and counts up to 100 while the buffer is refreshed (I assume this is what's happening.)

I understand that the home plugs are probably the issue here and they just can't keep up with the higher level of data throughput. After a little research I discovered the video cache settings page on the Kodi wiki. I have tried a few different variations of the advancedsettings file but nothing seems to work for me. In fact, they all make the playback worse not just with 4K but even with the 1080p files that play correctly with the default settings.