systemd-resolved

• I'm looking at a problem with my VPN add-on that sees the DNS not get updated to the VPN provider DNS servers on connection.

I *think* that the openvpn team have basically decided that it's not their job to do it, so there's a script to go run on connection which appears use systemd-resolved to force the update to happen. I'm far from an expert on Linux and systemd, but it looks like systemd-resolved is not included with the standard LE build (I'm using the RPi one) so the script basically fails.

Am I right? Is there a reason why this was excluded? Is there an alternative way (short of rolling my own build which is a rat hole I don't want to go down just now).

Thanks for any shoves in any direction, I'm totally at a loss.

• Official Post

Correct, we don't build systemd with resolved support so it's not present. I guess the main reason is partly 'legacy' because when we first started to use systemd 'resolved' didn't exist, and since we have minimalist tendencies and the current arrangement works, there's never been a major reason to use/need it. I've always seen VPN services run up/down scripts, although that normally requires the VPN service conf to be modified to include those instructions. I'm not sure how you do connections, but I would always treat the user provided conf (or something from a known list) as a starting template that's copied to a working location and then parsed/modified to add features like up/down scripts before being 'executed' to start the connection.