Posts by matthuo

Thanks a lot for such a detailed explanation.

Because it is my first time to do the adaptation of new device, so many are not clear, can you explain it in detail?

a) What are the upstream kernel sources? My current DTS is obtained from the Repositories supported by the current board . In addition, in which environment is dtb built?

b) For the u-boot config file, I got the file named xxxx_defconfig from the current board wiki support library, is it this file?

c) "ensure those patches apply on-top of existing LE package patches", how to do this specifically?

e) Is there a specific smaple you can refer to?

Hello,

I have a 3399 based board and I also have a DTS file that I want to add to LE and then generate the corresponding firmware.

Is it correct to modify the three places of source/u-boot/ in LE? That is, add the DTS file, modify the Makefile, and then add defconfig . Then make a Patch, and then build, is it enough?

What is the naming rule in LE of the patch file?

The build-system unpacks sources for a package, then applies diff patches in alphanumeric sequence before building the package. Patches follow a naming convention and need to be in diff format; patches are relative to the root folder of the unpacked sources.

See LibreELEC.tv/packages/linux-driver-addons/dvb/crazycat/patches at master · LibreELEC/LibreELEC.tv · GitHub for examples. If you're working on 'Generic' (4.14 kernel) ignore the amlogic folders which are specific to other kernels (although the format is the same).

What are the specific naming rules? I'm currently doing a Patch, what is the correct naming convention?

In addition, the purpose of my Patch is to add DTS to support the new RK3399 device. Would like to ask, is it possible to replace the new package in source/u-boot/? Specifically, I changed the Makefile, added the DTS file, and added the defconfig file. That should be fine, right?