Posts by Master One

I have tried LibreELEC 9.2.4 Generic on my Clevo N130WU ultrabook with i5-8250U / Intel UHD Graphics 620, which has a HDMI port capable of 4K@30Hz and a miniDP port capable of 4K@60Hz.

I have bought a miniDP to HDMI adapter and a HDMI cable that are supposed to support 4K@60Hz, but strangely when using that connection, LibreELEC identifies the connected monitor (a ViewSonic PX747-4K projector with HDMI1 input capable of 4K@60Hz) as HDMI1 and only offers 4K at a maximum of 30Hz.

Is that a limitation of LibreELEC / Kodi or what other reason could there be for not being able to utilize 4K@60Hz?

P.S. On my search for more information I have stumbled across the setting “hdmi_enable_4kp60=1“ in config.txt, but obviously that's only for the Raspberry 4 as there is no such file in the Generic x86_64 installation.

What to buy if looking for an out-of-the-box LibreELEC experience, that is capable of 4K@60Hz / x265 / HDR / digital audio (*)?

I have no experience with any SBC / Arm hardware and something bare-bone (without RAM/HDD/SSD) would be preferred, but I'm open to any suggestions.

(*) I already have a HDMI audio extractor with optical output, a miniDP to HDMI adapter and an external USB soundcard at hands, so the box does not require a dedicated digital audio output.

So I have been unsuccessfully trying to get LibreELEC 9.2.4 Generic to run on two different laptops, one is a Clevo N130WU with i5-8250U, the other a Clevo N151CU with i7-10510U, both with Intel HD 620 graphics:

• i5-8250U: System boots and seems to work as supposed to, but as soon as a video is started with the media player, all text disappears, only the icons remain, and I have to either restart or toggle the monitor output setting.
    • i7-10510U: System does not boot, it hangs with "Starting Xorg-Server", then writes something "GPU not supported?" and gets caught in a loop with trying to start the xorg server.