Posts by HomerJau

ok Maybe a stupid question.. I changed the Kodi resolution to 3840x2160/24 and it works fine.. but then when try to watch Live TV.. I can hear audio but no video... If I switched resolution back to 1080P/60 I'm able to play Live TV (audio/video) no problem.

So for Live TV do I need to keep the Kodi resolution to 1080P/60? Or is there a way to have the resolution in Kodi set at 2160/24 or any other and play Live TV without problems?

I’m no expert on Kodi Live TV but I doubt Kodi will upscale live video to 4K.

LibreElec 9 with Kodi 18 currently does tone mapping HDR > SDR to show ‘correct looking’ colours on your screen. It does not output HDR. (Without tone mapping HDR 10 bit video looks washed out).

There’s a thread in Hardware here where chewitt posted that true HDR output is being worked on now but won’t make the LibreElec 9.0 release, but will make LibreElec 10 release and will probably make a future LibreElec 9.x release. So our best scenario will see HDR added sometime this year (hopefully sooner than later, e.g. in LibreElec 9.1 - but it’s too early for anyone to know for sure)

I’m using a Minix Neo A2 air/gyroscopic mouse/remote (wifi). Amazon sells these for around $25 and available online worldwide. It includes a wifi dongle and works with no config on my two NUCs (5th gen and 8th gen) with LibreElec 9, plug and play (although I haven’t got it to turn turn the NUCs on/off yet, the on/off button is IR apparently)

https://www.amazon.com/minix-keyboard-six-axis-gyroscope-technology/dp/b016oabw8s

The gyroscopic mouse it really nice to use and no reception problems even it large rooms.

I have a 8th gen i3 and no problems with LibreElec Leia viewing 4K UHD HEVC/HDR (tone mapping) content, 1080p video, HD audio via pass-through (Atmos, DTSHDMA etc), Multichannel FLAC 24/192kHz etc. All via 1GBE LAN from NAS.