Posts by S80_UK

I would suggest to avoid AMD for this. Intel, Gemini Lake is working well with test builds. I use Pentium Silver N5000 in an MSI Cubi N box with available test builds. Some newer devices are also working will in Intel NUC boxes, but even Gemini Lake is sufficient for the normal 4k MKV rips that I take from my UHD Blurays. I have no experience using Atmos, but I think that is now also supported.

See this thread... LE11 HDR builds for Intel and AMD

The mainstream builds from the LE download page are not yet supporting HDR on x86 platforms.

Only thing is there is an occasional audio dropout when I bitstream- every so often I get a "source is too slow" message when I try to stream off my NAS.

I see this message too, but without any dropout. For LibreELEC I am using MSI Cubi N with a Pentium Silver N5000 (Gemini Lake) with 8GB RAM. I generally get this message when the 4k video file is already in cache in the NAS (my Unraid server on a gigabit LAN connection). If playing a file for the first time then the message is seldom seen. If I stop playback after a minute and then play the same file again from the beginning, the message will then pop up. It's almost as though the file data arrives too quickly. To me this suggests a possible arithmetic error in the source speed calculation caused by the data for the initial buffer fill operation taking very little time to arrive.

I bought a Noritake VFD GU140X32F. It can by used with serial or parallel interface and it's HD44780 compatible. I use it with an level shifter (3.3V-5V) and an converter (i2c - parallel).

Hi. I also have that exact display available from an old project. I would be curious to try to get this working as well. Do you have a link for the I2C to Parallel converter that you are using?