Help mounting network share for Transmission [solved]

• Hi guys. I'm new to LibreElec (and a n00b at linux environments) and need some help mounting a network share. Basically I installed Transmission from this source and Transmission was able to download and store files locally. However when I set the download path to my NAS download folder, it says the path is invalid. I read that the Transmission software can't view network paths, only Kodi can, is that correct?

How do I mount the network share so that Transmission can always see and save to it?

Is this the right resource? cause it looks scary, heh. I came across this tool to do the shares the noob way, but that won't work on an Chromebox running LibreElec will it?

thanks for the thoughts :shy:

Edited once, last by canaan (December 28, 2016 at 7:33 AM).

• I tried to follow the guide from the resource/wiki, but it didn't mount. then I tried to troubleshoot and I get the following error

LibreELEC:~ # mount -t nfs 192.168.0.5:/volume1 /storage/volume1 -o nolock

mount: 192.168.0.5:/volume1 failed, reason given by server: Permission denied
    mount: mounting 192.168.0.5:/volume1 on /storage/volume1 failed: Bad file descriptor

what did I do wrong? :huh:

Edited once, last by canaan (December 28, 2016 at 1:44 AM).

• after hours of messing around I got it working :D as for your questions, its a Synology NAS. When I looked at the mount path on the Synology it indeed indicated that it should be /volume1/Media. I think initially I was trying to mount the subdirectory.
    not exactly sure what I did wrong, but I'll write down everything I did for anyone else (or myself later down the line).the mount code that finally worked was:

mount -t nfs 192.168.0.5:/volume1/Media /storage/SynologyNAS -o nolock;